St. Patrick returned

March 17th is celebrated all around the world as being the feast day of the Patron Saint of Ireland. St. Patrick’s Day parades in Ireland are a wonderful opportunity for the family to go out and savour the colourful processions, celebrate our Irishness and best of all have  good fun !

Our first St. Patrick’s Day parade in Schull was a huge success and the feedback from people has been very positive. It was wonderful to see the huge local effort put into the organisation and running of the event. From the tiny tots to the elderly, there was something for everyone. Hundreds of people turned out to watch and the Grand Marshal for this year was Sister Gabriel. Floats, street performers and marchers temporarily took over the Main St. and created a bit of magic.

Many thanks to everyone who worked so hard to make this a special day.

The Parade line up, ably managed by Angela O’Callaghan & Mary O’Driscoll stretched from the East end of the village all the way back to Cadogans strand.

What a magnificent sight to see rescue boats, sail & rowing boats, horses, black sheep, vintage tractors pulling  mobile pubs and hairdressers with “cutting in progress”, footballers, Soccer players, Drama queens & Film squids, Girl Guides, Brownies,  Children, Parents and buggies all walk with a great sense of community & pride through Schull.The parade was led by by Community Councillors Kevin Kelleher & Mary O’Driscoll Murphy along with Grand Marshall Sr.Gabriel Sweeney & Donal McSweeney as St.Patrick.

John O’Callaghan was a superb MC for the day.

David Hayes & Mick O’Callaghan entertained everyone with a host of Irish tunes.

Aisling O’Donovan, Caoilainn O’Regan, Julie O’Sullivan & Elizabeth O’Sullivan danced a lovely 4 hand reel.

Dignitaries for the day included Fr. Alan O’Leary, Rev. Hilary Wakeman, Paddy Sheehan (Retired T.D), & Francis Sheehan.

Imaginations are already springing into action for the 2012 St. Patricks Day Parade.

This community event was hosted by the Schull & District Community Council in conjunction with the St.Patrick’s Day Sub-Committee Ellen Logan, Angela O’Callaghan, Mary O’ Driscoll & Carmel O’Regan.

The committee would like to thank all who helped in making this day a great success especially the Traffic Marshalls, Garda John Dowling & Sgt, Ger Prenderville.

St.Patrick’s Day Best Dressed Window Competition Prize winners as follows

1st The Little Way Charity Shop

2nd Divecology

3rd Enibas

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *